Wednesday, 11 September at 19:30, Union Hall

Symphony Orchestra of the Comic Opera in Berlin
Henrik Nánási – conductor

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Symphony in D Major K 504 ´Prague Symphony´
Richard Wagner: Siegfried Idyll in E Major WWV 103
Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy: Symphony No. 4 in A Major, Op. 90 ´Italian Symphony´

The superior mastery of the interpretation combined with great expressiveness can be seen in all of the three masterpieces of this concert. Mozart wrote the Prague Symphony to enthuse people for his art. Mendelssohn’s Symphony No. 4 “Italian” is an enthusiastic piece written during the travels through Rome and Naples.

Wagner composed the Siegfried Idyll as a birthday present to his second wife, Cosima, after the birth of their son Siegfried in 1869. It was first performed on Christmas morning, 25 December 1870 by a small ensemble on the stairs of their villa at Tribschen. Cosima awoke to its opening melody. The Orchestra of the Komische Oper Berlin shall at this concert be introduced with its chief conductor and one of the most important Hungarian conductors of the younger generations, Henrik Nánási.

Book season tickets and packets on: